August 21, 2018

The county is entirely within the Pine Ridge Indian Reservation and contains part of Badlands National Park. It is an alcohol prohibition or dry county; taxes on alcohol consumed within the county go to other counties.

Oglala Lakota County is one of two counties in South Dakota that does not have its own county seat (Todd County is the other). Hot Springs in neighboring Fall River County serves as its administrative center. It is also one of five South Dakota counties that are entirely on an Indian reservation. (The others are Corson, Dewey, Todd, and Ziebach.) [Article: Why Does a Reservation County also have a County Government?]

Oglala Lakota County was renamed in May of 2015, originally it had been named Shannon County. Until 1982 Oglala Lakota and Washabaugh County, South Dakota, were the last unorganized counties in the United States. Although it was organized and received a home rule charter that year, Oglala Lakota County, as noted above, contracts with Fall River County for its Auditor, Treasurer, Director of Equalization, State’s Attorney and Registrar of Deeds.

Election Map

View larger map

Election Results

Full election results for local, county, and state elections can be found on the SD Secretary of State’s website here.


Today is the Primary Election, as well as, the school board election.  Don’t forget to vote!  Polls are open 7am – 7pm. Polling Locations: Batesland Precinct: Oglala Lakota County Schools Cuny Table Precinct: Red Shirt School Kyle Precinct: Kyle CAP Office Manderson Precinct: Manderson CAP Office Oglala Precinct: Brother Renee Hall Pine Ridge #1 & […]

Vote Early!

Absentee voting for the 2018 Primary election has begun!  In Oglala Lakota County you may vote at the SuAnne Big Crow Center in Pine Ridge or at Fall River County Courthouse in Hot Springs from now to June 4th.  Please bring a photo ID with you. The both locations are open 8:00 am to 5:00 pm, Monday through Friday (closed Memorial […]