October 26, 2021

Photo of Badlands Scenery.The county is entirely within the Pine Ridge Indian Reservation and contains part of Badlands National Park. It is an alcohol prohibition or dry county; taxes on alcohol consumed within the county go to other counties.

Oglala Lakota County is one of two counties in South Dakota that does not have its own county seat (Todd County is the other). Hot Springs in neighboring Fall River County serves as its administrative center. It is also one of five South Dakota counties that are entirely on an Indian reservation. (The others are Corson, Dewey, Todd, and Ziebach.) [Article: Why Does a Reservation County also have a County Government?]

Oglala Lakota County was renamed in May of 2015, originally it had been named Shannon County. Until 1982 Oglala Lakota and Washabaugh County, South Dakota, were the last unorganized counties in the United States. Although it was organized and received a home rule charter that year, Oglala Lakota County, as noted above, contracts with Fall River County for its Auditor, Treasurer, Director of Equalization, State’s Attorney and Registrar of Deeds.



Courthouse Closed – Native American Day

The Oglala Lakota & Fall River County Courthouse in Hot Springs will be closed Monday, October 11th in observance of Native American Day. Regular business will resume as usual on Tuesday, October 12th.


Click below for more information. FEMA COVID Funeral Assistance

Temporary Ordinance Regarding the Issuance of Local Medical Cannabis

The Oglala Lakota County Commissioners have passed a temporary ordinance regarding the issuance of local medical cannabis establishment permits.  The ordinance states that applications for such licenses will not be accepted until the South Dakota Department of Health has promulgated regulations in this area. This temporary ordinance went into effect June 24, 2021. The full […]

Notice of Public Hearing – Ordinance for Local Cannabis Permits/Licenses

BOARD OF OGLALA LAKOTA COUNTY COMMISSIONERS NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING ORDINANCE #2021-01 A TEMPORARY ORDINANCE REGARDING THE ISSUANCE OF LOCAL MEDICAL CANNABIS ESTABLISHMENT PERMITS AND/OR LICENSES   The Board of Oglala Lakota County Commissioners will hold a public hearing on June 9, 2021 at 2 p.m., in the Oglala Lakota County Courthouse located in Hot […]

Skip to content