April 21, 2024

County Name Change – Oglala Lakota County

On November 4, 2014 two thirds of Shannon County voted to change the name of the county to Oglala Lakota County.  This name change was then passed by House Joint Resolution 1005 in the 2015 Legislative Session.  May 1st, 2015 was declared the official renaming day.

The Shannon County offices will be spending the next month changing names on this website as well as official documents in anticipation of the May 1st change.


See Official Proclamation from Governor Daugaard.

Skip to content