June 19, 2024

Concealed Weapons Permit

A temporary permit to carry a concealed pistol shall be issued within five days of application to a person if the applicant:
  1. Is eighteen years of age or older
  2. Has never pled guilty to, nolo contender to, or been convicted of a felony or crime of violence. (A person who has pled guilty to a felony and received a Suspended Imposition of Sentence is not eligible for a Concealed Pistol Permit.)
  3. Is not habitually in an intoxicated or drugged condition.
  4. Has no history of violence.
  5. Has not been found in the previous ten years to e a “danger to others or a “danger to self” as defined in SDCL 27A-1-1 or is not currently adjudged mentally incompetent.
  6. Has been a resident of county where the application is being made for at least thirty days.
  7. Has had no violations of Chapter 23-7 (firearms control) 22-14 (unlawful use of weapons) or 22-42 (controlled substances and marijuana) constituting a felony or misdemeanor in the five years preceding the date of application or is not currently charged under indictment or information for such an offense.
  8. Is a citizen of the United States.
  9. Is not a fugitive from justice.
The permit is valid throughout South Dakota except in any licensed on-sale malt beverage or alcoholic beverages (SDCL 23-7-8.1). The permit is not transferable from one person to another.
You do not need a permit if the UNLOADED weapon is carried:
  • In the trunk or other closed compartment of the vehicle
  • In a closed container which is too large to be effectively concealed on the person or within his clothing
  • The container may be carried in a vehicle or in any other manner. (SDCL 22-14-10)
False Information
No person, in purchasing or otherwise securing delivery of a pistol or in applying for a permit to carry a concealed pistol, may give false information or offer false evidence of his identity. A violation of this section is a Class 6 felony (SDCL 23-7-12-2 years/$2000 fine). This includes providing false information as to place of residence.
If you meet the above criteria, you may apply for a concealed pistol permit. The fee is $10 CASH ONLY. You will receive your temporary permit after a background investigations completed, within five working days. Your laminated permit will be mailed to you from the Secretary of State in Pierre within 2-4 weeks of application. It will be valid for four years from date of issue.
Concealed Weapons Permit Information Booklet
A concealed weapon permit general information booklet may be requested by mail or by phone through the Secretary of State Office at:
Secretary of State
500 E Capitol Ave
Pierre, SD 57501-5070
The information is also available online at the South Dakota Secretary of State’s website.
Concealed Weapons Permit Reciprocity
South Dakota has reciprocity for concealed weapons permits; this reciprocity is the result of a law that took effect July 1, 2002. To find additional information on this and South Dakota firearms laws and the current reciprocity list please visit the Secretary of State’s website. These reciprocity agreements make your pistol permit valid in the states listed below and their residents’ permits are valid in South Dakota. You must comply with the laws of the state you are entering. For information regarding other states’ laws visit, go to the Handgunlaw.us website.
We currently have reciprocity with the following states:
Alabama Alaska * Arizona Colorado * Florida *
Georgia * Idaho Indiana Kentucky * Louisiana
Michigan * Mississippi Missouri Montana North Carolina *
North Dakota Oklahoma Pennsylvania Tennessee * Texas
Utah * West Virginia Wyoming *
* Only South Dakota permits issued to those who are 21 years of age and older are recognized.
Skip to content